• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Anybody have a good story about beating Cyanobacteria

Russell Bennett

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
I have a 36 gallon fluval M90 tank (AIO)

I am a newbie

I think was a big over feeder and I have cut that way back. I went lights out 3 days a week ago and it disappeared. Now it is back. I did my weekly 10 gallon water change and sucked most of it up, but it is getting its footing again.

I think the answer is to continue to limit nutrients and increase water changes. I think for now avoiding the chemicals if possible is ideal, but is that running into a wall?

I would take a more holistic approach to dealing with this problem. There are a number of conditions that will cause this problem, individually/collectively, and although one may be the overriding factor, I’d approach each one as the primary, or contributing factor. Starting with using good RO/DI water, if you’re not using it, you’ll be adding the needed nutrients every time you top off, and/or do a WC.

Here is a good article worth reading:

BlueGrAlgae

The use of “Red Slime Removers”, can work in the short term, but if the issues that generated it are not resolved, it will simply keep reoccurring.

I don’t like using it, and would make every effort to solve the problem by other means, as noted in the attached article. I know of a couple circumstances where someone lost their system due to a sudden die off of the red slime algae(BGA/cyano bacteria) releasing toxins into the water.

Last edited:

kschweer

Administrator
Staff member
Officer Emeritus
You're right with reducing nutrients and water changes. Try to remove what you can during the water changes and also try increasing the flow in your tank.

horseplay

NJRC Member