• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Raising Blackworms

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
Thanks go to Paul B for getting me into this. It's probably the best thing I've done for my fish, though I am still waiting for the supermodels to show up.

Please keep in mind this guide is written for 70-90g tanks. You may have to upscale a bit for a larger system. I'm unsure if it would work, as I've no experience with larger systems, but its so simple I can't see how doubling or tripling the information below would be non-viable.
Also, no need to overthink. This is as easy as it gets. I had a catastrophic disaster and lost my entire previous tank. Took me all of 10 minutes and a trip to buy the worms to get back up and running.

Set-up
Take a small tank, I use a 5 gallon.
Shallow fill (3-5”, more is not better) with RODI or tap water (NO SALT).
Place a single layer of gravel on the bottom (again, more is not better, its detrimental).
Use a small air pump and a generic air-stone.
Add a small plant or two for nitrates (any shallow freshwater plant will do, I’m currently using a bit of java moss) and just let it float about.
Add worms.
Thats it.

Securing worms
Tropaquarium in Ocean sells live worms for $1.50 a tub, 3 tubs for $4. Three tubs should be enough to start up, six would be better if you want to start feeding immediately. When choosing the tubs observe the worms. Greyish worms are dead. White worms that are mobile are leeches (rare). Choose tubs with a good amount of brown and mobile worms (regardless of where you purchase).
Drop the worms into the tank and stir it up a bit. Within a few minute the tank will appear empty as the worms will seek shelter under the gravel.

Feeding the worms