• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

A Siliconing Question

Hey all,

I have a question about siliconing glass. I have looked everywhere but can't seem to find the answer I need. I have found all sorts of how to's on bonding acrylic, however, I am trying to put together my external overflow. I had all the pieces cut for me and I just finished cutting the bulkhead :eek: 8) :eek: 8).

The last part of my project (this stage anyhow) involves putting the box together. I have absolutely no clue as to how to silicone the panes together so that they are square. Does anyone have any ideas (or willing to do the siliconing for a fee) on how to do this. I have seen pictures with the glass taped, but I guess I just don't get it. This is my first time working with glass. I cant imagine that it's rather difficult, I have just never done it before.

Thank you soooo much for any input! You have no idea how much it's appreciated!

Tom

I'm by far no expert, but I use these for squaring wood boxes for drawers, small box shelves, etc:

http://www.woodworker.com/PF071_D.HTM

I imagine they would work for glass as well, just don't tork them down or you will crack the glass. I'd probably also line the contact surface on the clamp with some kind of felt or something too to keep from scratching.

here u go :)
make sure the glass is clean
i did one piece per day to insure the silicone would dry

DSC06046.jpg

u want to put a bead of silicone like this & make sure it is
square when u put it on the othe glass piece
DSC06059.jpg

DSC06054.jpg

then u would do the same for the other side, i added the bottom
piece last then cut the holes for the bulkheads
DSC06062.jpg

then i put a long bead on the edges all the way around & fliped
it over put some weigh on it & left it to dry overnight.