• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

DIY - 55/65 Gallon Tank stand

Hi guys I've been working on a stand for my 55G, and just posted what I have so far. Again this is a simple stand I've seem really nice looking stands from many members here but I'm not that good or a wood worker.

You can see the page here or:
http://www.celticland.com/diystand.htm

DIY 55/65 Gallon Aquarium Stand in Progress...
I wanted to build a stand for my 55G tank that could also fit a 65G, the stand that I currently have was made for a fresh water tank and it doesn't have the necessary room for a sump. I'm not really good at working with wood so this is definitely a beginner DIY and there are tons of other DIY stands that are better than this, but at least you can get an idea so you can start building your own.

plan.gif

This are the plans I made you can download as a PDF here:
http://www.celticland.com/SW/DIY Stand plans.pdf

img_3604_20d__2006_12_29.jpg

After I figured out the dimensions I wanted I bought the 7 2x4x8 and started cutting them to size

img_3606_20d__2006_12_29.jpg

I cut all the pieces by first taping the 2x4s together to insure they would be the same size, I used a
table saw which helped getting straight cuts.

img_3607_20d__2006_12_29.jpg

In this picture I aligned the front face of the stand and used 2x4s to align and leave space for
other pieces I would use later.

img_3608_20d__2006_12_29.jpg

Here the same pieces screwed, I also used wood glue.

img_3609_20d__2006_12_29.jpg

img_4039.jpg

Once the frame was completed I used 3/4" plywood to cover both the top and bottom of the stand, The top piece on ply wood was the exact size of the frame and was screwed/glued in the bottom was a trickier since I had to cut around the 2x4's.