• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Fascination with picasso's

ok...I'm very new to the hobby...very new...so..with that being said...please forgive my ignorance...

I'm posting this here rather then in the retailer/sponsor threads because I don't want to be rude and don't want to mess up anyone's sales.....but, I simply can not understand what the fascination is with picasso clown fish???....rather, let me amend that...they are fairly beautiful fish.....I simply can not see what the fascination is to the degree that an individual would spend close to five hundred dollars for two of them????....

now, I'm truly not being judgmental...if you have the money and you want the fish, I say go for it! big believer here in live and let live!....however, that doesn't mean I'm not curious....so, can someone explain to me just what is so great about a fish that looks like it is a step away from being albino or took a slide down the whiteout highway?....thanks...grins

ROFL.

Everyone has a way of assigning values differently. Picassos are genetically bred fish that you cannot find anywhere else. No one else breeds them (yet). So there is an intrinsic value to being "the first" and also there is some cost to breeding these (so to pay for the research).

It's like being a Prius Owner in 2004. No one could get one and you had to sign up for the car way in advance. No rebates, no special discounts - even though tons of cars were being sold with low financing or huge rebates. Mileage wise a prius is a bit better than a honda civic or toyota corolla - but people pay full price because they wanted it, and wanted to be first.

grins....I should have know it all came down to ego, money, and prestige....