• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

New

Finally got a light for my tank and would like to try my hand at keeping corals. What would you suggest for a newbie? And where to buy them from during all this?

MadReefer

Staff member
NJRC Member
Not sure if you started a build thread.
What size tank?
What kind of light?
What types of coral are you interested in?

Not sure if you started a build thread.
What size tank?
What kind of light?
What types of coral are you interested in?
40g breeder with 20g long sump. Viparspectra light.(I have just ordered a second one for any fall out)
Soft and lps. Something easy and forgiving since it's my first time.

diana a

Staff member
NJRC Member
Welcome to NJRC!!!! How long has the tank been cycled? Do you have fishes?

Zoas, duncan, chalice

MadReefer

Staff member
NJRC Member
40g breeder with 20g long sump. Viparspectra light.(I have just ordered a second one for any fall out)
Soft and lps. Something easy and forgiving since it's my first time.

Any leather, mushroom, LPS - Hammer, Frogspawn will do fine under that light. You may have to adjust the intensity.
Could do SPS but a bit harder; can try green and red cap coral.
I am sure others will chime in but a few to start.

Trio91

Administrator
Staff member
Leathers, kenya trees, xenia, green star polyp, mushrooms are pretty much bulletproof IMO