• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Novice Here -- Bought a Wrasse

Hi. This is my first post.

We've had our reef tank going for about a month now. Two Sebae Clowns, a Bangaii Cardinal Fish, and a Cleaner Shrimp are living in there and are doing fine. . .

Tonight we visited a different pet shoppe than the one that sold us all the fish listed above. We wanted to get a Maroon Clown, but the saleswoman told us that it's not recommended to mix different types of clowns. So -- after hearing our tank size and other occupants, she recommended a Red Coris Wrasse. The thing looked cool, so we bought it.

It's just a baby. We brought it home and, after acclimating it for 20 minutes or so, we put it in the tank. It went down to the bottom and burrowed in the coral.

I read up on this fish online. They don't to well in coral and can get aggressive when (or in my case if) they grow up. Also -- I don't think I acclimated it long enough. . .

I think I made a poor, uninformed purchase. I'm not sure what to do. I wonder if the shop will take it back? Or should we keep it and hope for the best?

What do you guys think? Thanks for your time!

try to return the fish.

and also try to avoid impluse buying, researching before a purchase is key. you should also QT your fish prior to adding them to your tank.

hey, i bought this book, and its great...its really not to read, every page has a picture of a fish and it explains what size tank it needs, what and how much to feed it, reef safe, what other fish to put in the tank with it ect. ect. ect...it even rates it on its survival rating so you know what fish to avoid buying..i love it, and its small so you can take it with you to the pet store..

http://www.amazon.com/PocketExpert-...1?ie=UTF8&s=home-garden&qid=1232859121&sr=8-1