• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Pukani/BRS cooking rock question

Maybe cooking isn't the right word, but I've got a mixture of the pukani and BRS rock in the tank pictured. It's been like this for about a month now. There is just a small powerhead, heater and air stone. Also there is a clump of cheato in there as well. The thought being with the light and cheato that this would help with good bacteria, reducing leaching phosphates. But I'm new to this so not sure. My question is now there is starting to grow some algae, nothing crazy, just a little green hair looking algae on the rocks. Would I be better off now covering the window and letting the rocks sit in dark now, or continue as is?

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361229188.405569.jpg

Fish Brain

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
When curing rock, you want to keep it out of direct light, the less light the better and no light is preferred. As the rock cures, nitrates and phosphates will rise and both fuel algae. You don't want your new rocks to be algae covered so kill all light if possible.

I would take the Pukani, and hose it off, etch it in a solution of water and vinegar 50/50 for a couple days, hose it off again, and place it in a container/tank with freshly made SW, and go through the curing process, checking for PO4. As Brian mentioned lights aren't going to do you any good, so you'll have to get the chaeto out of there.

Follow Jim's advice. Pukani is beautiful rock and if you dont do it right the first time you will pay for it dearly a yr later....I know from first hand experience.

TanksNStuff

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus