• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

questions about corals and other stuff ??????

I have some zoos and one mushroom that I got at the last meeting in the raffle. I am new to the hobby. I have a BC 14 and I will give some parameters, Sal 1.024 all other numbers at 0 and the nitrates are about 5. The only other thing that I test for is calcium which is about 480. I run my lights 10 hours per day 10 for the actinics and 8 on the "white" lights. When the lights first come on the zoos are wide open and seem to look good and then as the day goes on they seem to close some and not look as healthy. I had them initially up on the top of the rock which would only be about 5 inches from the lights and when I moved them down they started doing better.

Alot of rambling so the question is is there something that I should be testing for that I am not or should i use carbon or what is recommended?

I do 20% water change weekly and I dose with Bionic 2 part daily? Please keep in mind that i am very much a noob.

Welcome to NJRC!

Let me start by saying that if you could provide more information on your tank that would be great. We know you have a BC14, but are the lights stock? if so what wattage? Do you have PC or MH? What is the flow like in the tank? What type of pumps are you using? What is the model number of the pumps so we can check out the Gal Per Hour? Do you have live rock? Did you cycle the tank long enough? What is the temperature of the tank? How do you test your salinity? Refractometer? Are you using RO/DI and since you are doing 20% water changes is there any reason you are dosing? The salt should take care of that on this sized tank?

Answer those things and then we will get to what might be occurring.. :)

Again welcome to the site!!!