• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

What's going on with my Candy Cane?

falconut

NJRC Member
It looked great when I got it about two weeks ago. The first photo is from a week ago, and the second one is from this morning.
picture.php

picture.php

They are differnt angles, but you can see how is has receded in a week. The polyps no longer plump up and it doesn't extend any feeders at night.

My levels are:
Salt: 1.025
ph: 8.2
Cal: 390
Alk: 8.5 dkh
Mag: 1340
NO3: 5-10
PO4: 0 - using an API kit, but there is definitely some, just added some GFO last night.

I've been using Crystal Seas Marinemix salt for the past 6 months, was using Oceanic. I add unbaked baking soda to maintain alk and Prestone Driveway Heat for calcium and drip Kalk daily. I alternate between (2) 110 Watt VHO's & (2) 250 Watt MH's. VHO's are on from 2 - 5:15 & 8:45-10 & MH's are on from 5 - 9. VHO's (1) Aquasun & (1) Super Actinic & MH's are Hamilton 14K. My buddies tank had them about 6" below the water with the same lighting and his grew about 12x bigger in a year. I had stray volts and added a ground probe. I added a large bag of carbon in case my leather was releasing toxins. I am completely stumped.

Any idea what could be causing this?

JohnS_323

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
What kind of flow is it in? Since everything else seems to be in check, maybe it's getting too much/too little flow.

Just a thought. Good luck with it.

falconut

NJRC Member
It started out in pretty high flow, so I moved it lower (about mid way down in a medoum flow area), then last night I moved it to the bottom to a lower flow area. People have told me that they should be kept in a lower light area.