• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

29 Gallon BioCube Questions

Hi all. New guy here. I'm a rookie in the reef tank world but have been keeping and breeding freshwater and rift lake cichlids for 15 years. I was at my LFS (The Aquarium Center in Clementon) and I met a member of the forum and she told me I should check it out, and stop fooling around with freshwater. So... here I am. However, I still like my freshies ;D. I wanted to start out on the smaller side of things but not so small that I couldn't have a variety of corals and such.

That being said, I purchased the Oceanic 29 gallon BioCube and it has been setup and cycling with 18lbs of live rock for about 2 months now. I have been noticing a lot of members have upgraded their lighting systems and pumps on these tanks. Is that something that I should look into? I'm still undecided on a stock list, but I do know that I want a pair of clarki clowns and a host anemone. I'm also a big fan of zoos. Any info on proper care and needs of these, is appreciated.

I also see that many of you are running a skimmer. Is that necessary? I am used to doing weekly water changes on all my fresh and rift tanks. If I do weekly changes on the reef tank, will that negate the need for a skimmer?

Is a chiller needed on these tanks if the lighting is upgraded? If I can avoid getting that involved, I'd like to, but will do what needs to be done for the well being of the tank and it's inhabitants.

If you can answer some or all of these questions, or tell me your own experiences with this tank, it will be greatly appreciated.

mnat

Officer Emeritus
Staff member
First off welcome to the site, take a look around and you will see a ton of great tanks.