• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

54G Corner Reef Tank

Hello NJRC-

I am new to the saltwater hobby. I hope to learn as much as I can from all of you.

After some research and a bit of a whim I decided to set up a reef tank, the only problem is that I wish that I had done it sooner. By far this is the most challenging and yet fulfilling hobbies that I have taken up. I settled on my 54G corner because of space issue in my townhouse, I want to gain as much experience as possible before I get a bigger system, which I am already planning. My 54G sits in the corner of my dining room and has transformed an otherwise dull corner of my house into a miniature reef that everyone enjoys.

Here is my system so far:

Equipment:
24" Solar Extreme Deep Blue T5's
24" Aquaticlife LED 460nm (really makes the corals pop)
Eshopps PSK-75 in sump Protein Skimmer
Eshopps RS-100 Sump
Return pump: Model 3 Danner Supreme Mag-Drive Utility Pump
2x Hydor Koralias
Heater
~50lbs LR

From the beginning of my planning/ set up of the system, redundancy and ease of use was the overarching principle. I have a busy schedule and from time to time my wife has to cover down on the tank duties. Therefore, purchased some pieces of equipment that have definitely paid off from the get go.

I decided on a RO/DI unit from the beginning in order to prevent myself from having to pay for and haul RO/DI water from the LFS, which was going to be a pain. I know in the long run it will pay itself off so I bought a 5-Stage 75 GPD system from BRS. I am happy with the system and I am glad that I bought it from the beginning, I keep at least 25 gallons on hand at all times for any emergencies/ my ATO system.