• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

AI HYDRA settings

Anybody run Hydra's? I've been playing with these settings for about 6 months now on my 90 gal. I have two Hydra 52 HDs. I cant seem to find a setting that will give good growth and color. Ive downloaded profiles from all over the web. Who is running these with good results? And would you care to share your profile with me? This is the current one that I am running. Screen Shot 2016-12-23 at 7.22.52 PM.png

I use four Hydra 52 on my 125 gal reef system. This is an older model compared to the Hydra 52 HD. However, I do use them with a director.

I use a very simple system. Light ramp up for an hour starting at on at 9 AM and start to ramp down at 9 PM. I run the most of the colors at about 85% max, except white which I run at about 55% max, and green that I run about 70% max. No "special effects" are used. At night the deep blue are run at 5% max.

You are going to find that just about any reasonably normal profile will work just fine, and as long as your profile isn't extreme there isn't really too much too much difference as far as coral growth goes. I have found it nice to be able to cut back on the red or green as part of controlling algae.

If your happw with the way you have it set up now, no need to alter it. In my opinion, it's a waste of time to "hyper tune" the lighting profile to get it "absolutely perfect".

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
I dont know if this will help or not. I was running 2 hydra 26s over my 90 and ran a par meter with the lights on various settings.
Unsure how this would transcribe over to the 52s, but at least its some info...

HydraWhites_zpsnbtqn5o7.jpg
HydraBluess_zpsp9tn08q2.jpg
HydraWhitesBlues_zps6hujcqv1.jpg

HydraSpectrum2_zps0bnvmqhq.jpg