• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Algea and clean up crew Q's

Hello, i have a ten gallon AGA nano that was recently returned to me by a friend who babysat it for a year while i was in maine working. Needless to say when i went to pick up the tank my Compact flo was in pieces, every coral was dead and there was an abundant amount of different algea(reds,hairy,greens ect.). My crabs and snails and shrimp where also MIA. My question is what would be a good clean up crew for alot of algea for such a small tank as i know i should keep the bio-load low in a nano. Anyh suggestions would be great. also any suggestions on finding cheaper compact flos for this size tank....i am a broke recent college grad so if anyone knows of any deals out there that would help a lot. I am located in wayne. thank you all

Steve

mnat

Officer Emeritus
Staff member
Sorry to hear about the condition of the tank when you got it back. At this point, sound like you might have to completely redo the tank. I would pull all the live rock and scrub it down to get rid of the algae, and scrub the walls. For a cleanup crew go to reefcleaners.org a lot of people have gotten great deals off of that website and it is cheap. You can go with the standard snails and hermits, but it is going to take them a while to do what you can do with a brush and a bucket of water. As far as lights go, just look for a deal or go to MACNA and I am sure you can find them there. I got my lights from marinedepot.com but I don't know what you are looking for.