• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

biocube setup

I new to forum & reef keeping. Have a 10 gallon started @ 10 months ago with a few zoas, star polyp & a sort of monti. I have a few bumble bee snails, a turbo and a few hermits... Had a recent ich problem so I'm fishless. Now I'm starting a 29 gallon biocube and need to know if I'm on the right path.

Started with:
20lbs Carib Sea bagged reef sand leaving @ 1-2 inch bed
@ 20lbs of base rock and 1 8lb live rock from LFS
rodi water
floss, purigen & chemipure in tank basket
small pump moving water
peice of table shrimp
lighting w/ small fluorescent a few hrs a day
amm, nitrite & nitrate testing

Running for 1 week today. I'm still new to this and don't go long without learning about things I want and don't want. After a week I'm thinking I should start changing water... How much??? 10, 25, 50%.... I'm curious to hear opinions on any changes I need to make to my base materials or routine.

Thanks

Good start. I don't think u should change any water yet. Let it cycle about 4 to 6 weeks b4 doing any water change to give it time to fill up with the beneficial bacteria and then with that size tank I think u should be good with 10%-20% water change weekly

Thanks!!! That was the plan. Are there any other elements I should be testing?

I've also been stalking your Nemo tank build... Got some ideas I'd like to try for my kids room. Right now in my boys room we have a 10 gallon tank with some hermits, rock crabs and minnows we caught at the beach this summer.

Fish Brain

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Welcome to the board!

Do not do a water change until after the tank has cycled and your nitrates start to go up. Somewhere around week 5 or 6.