• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Discouraged....

kevin

NJRC Member
Rant:

I've been battling cyano & hair algae for quite a few months now. The hair algae is not terrible, but the cyano is out of control. I've been getting less & less interested with the tank & even contemplated/ing selling it.

I have ZERO TDS water.
10-15 gallon a week water changes
running gfo & carbon
within the last month or so i've been using zeobak & coral snow.
I feed once a day. I use a baster to make sure my fish get all the food. PE mysis & pellets
skimmer pulls out stuff like a champ

Before using zeobak & coral snow I ran chemiclean & it didn't do anything. Trying out zeobak & coral snow.. but doesn't seem like it's helping. I believe it is helping my rocks get coraline on them... because I've never had it before. My corals are growing great & my fish/inverts are perfectly fine. I'll do a lights out for a day and it'll all go away.. once the lights go back on .. its back within 15mins. Running radions.. so my bulbs are fine, hah

Tonight I'm trying chemiclean again.

this is my rant.. it's just frustrating to see my tank like this. looks disgusting.

iTzJu

Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
cyano is a pita man. I know your pain. my cyano was gone in a couple of weeks when I tried MB7 but if you used zeobak and coral snow, maybe it wont work. I dont know. don't get discouraged man! keep battling!

FYI when I ran the radion with the red led I got NASTY cyano, Try tweaking the red on your fixture a bit and see if that helps.

kschweer

Administrator
Staff member
Officer Emeritus