• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

First Reefing Adventure... 30 Gal Tank for a New Hobbyist

Hi Everybody!

My name Kris born and raised in West New York, NJ.

I'm a 6th Science Teacher at local elementary school.

Just got into the Hobby (Newbie). Always wanted to as a kid and just made it into a reality. A good friend of mine recommended me to the forum. (DelxCMB) Thanks!

I'm excited to start this new hobby, and hopefully one day incorporate it into my Science Class for my students.

Currently have a 30 Gallon Tank with 5 Gallon Sump. Overflow Box, Running 2 PowerHeads 1000 gal and 500 gal, Sicce 1.5 return pump, and Heater.

I'm on my 3rd week of Cycling with 30 lbs Live Rock from (LFS), 30 lbs Live Sand Caribsea (20 lbs Bahamas and 10 lbs Black), and 2 Clown Fish.

Any Help or Suggestions are greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• IMG_6740.jpg
    IMG_6740.jpg
    381.8 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_6857.jpg
    IMG_6857.jpg
    839.3 KB · Views: 16
  • IMG_6859.jpg
    IMG_6859.jpg
    802.2 KB · Views: 18
Welcome Kris! Congrats on getting into the hobby. Del's a good friend? Sorry to here that, no one likes that guy. Lol (of course I'm kidding) great guy.

Do you have an automatic top off (A.T.O.) system? If not I really suggest you get one & remember to be patient.

You'll meet a great group of people on here, very helpful. Welcome once again!20191116_074056.gif