• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Good Marine Fish Stores in North Jersey?

Hi, I'm new to the New Jersey Reefers Club, so just like to say that this site is really awesome. Also, I have recently moved to Northern Jersey, and would like to know what are some good stores in let's say in Bergen and Passaic County. Primarily Bergen County Please, also please tell me if you've ever shopped there and what did you buy? Was it in good condition, would you go back there again? Thanks a ton!

I live in Rockland Cty(NY). That borders Bergen.

Local to me there is Pets Place in Nanuet.
Fish Town in Ramsey/Mahwah on route 17.
Pet Goods Rt 17 Paramus
I have traveled to absolutely fish in Clifton.
There are a couple of stores in Hackensack. I have yet to get to these.

There is one called "the fish tank" on the 46 in saddle brook.

Its right before the border of Bergen County and Passaic County.

249 Rt 46 West 07663

looks small from the 46 but very deep and wide once you get in.

nice selection of both salt and fresh.

Welcome to N. Jersey Steve!!! I've lived in N. NJ most of my life and have seen many aquarium stores come and go, and have even worked at a few.

To add a few to the list:

Reef Encounters in Hackensack is OK for basics. Fish selection is so so, coral selection is limited, inverts is limited as well. Livestock usually looks healthy and drygood selection is not bad. The staff can be a little grouchy and prices aren't bad.

Just over the border in Spring Valley is Beital's. Coral and invert selection is better than Reef Encounters, the fish selection seems to be geared to larger fish for the most part. Prices are the highest I've encountered.

To expand on the info from the others: