• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Hi all, New guy here with some questions.

(Grab some popcorn)
Hey everyone. Nice place you all have here. I'm glad I met a member from here and he told me about this place.
I'm relatively new to reefs and saltwater, however for the past 2 1/2 years I had a saltwater setup in a 56gal tall.
It was powered by a fluval 404, ccoral for gravel, 60lbs of lr, 2 power heads. Maintaining the tank was a breeze, just topped it off everytime it got low..lol.(seriously) Until 1 day about 3 months ago I noticed that mostly all my snails were around. I took this as a bad sign so the little voice in my head told me that I should do I 50% water change. Well... after that my fish all died 1 by 1. Thankfully they were just clowns and damsels. Nothing really expensive but I still shed a tear for them.(well not me, the wife did..really) After that episode we did another water change and let the live rocks sit to hopefully recycle the tank. About 3 weeks ago my trusty fluval died, it just stopped working. I wasn't able to replace it till now.(owning a home makes this difficult sometimes.) I started to do some reading on the net and sort of caught the fever. I always thought the 56gal tall was just too square so I went out and got a regular 55 gal. I just purchased a skimmer from the fellow member who told me about this site. Now I want to do it right and try to make a sump/refuge and hopefully achieve a really nice reef setup like those I see at the lfs. Enough with the rambling, here are some of my questions.

1. Are my rocks ok? They have just been sitting in water with powerheads for the last 3-4 weeks. Some have a nice red color and some don't..look a dark greyish. (I can try to post some pics later on, if I get the chance.)