• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

New to the hobby....hello to everyone and some questions.

Hi-

I'm new to the hobby and have been lurking around here as well as other forums to get info. I've also bought and read quite a number of books on the subject for the past month or so. It's informative and helpful sites like this that make this hobby enjoyable and challenging at the same time!

So for starters, my name is Warren and I live in Colts Neck. For those that don't know it, it's right beside Freehold..hehe. I have maintained several FW tanks since high school and are very well-versed with them. This time though, I want to get into saltwater and plan to keep a reef tank (corals, softies, etc.) with only 2 to 4 fish in it (when I get there).

So far, I have the following:

22G Cadlights tank with T5 HO (96W) plus cabinet
Refugium Light and Fan
Stock pump
2 Koralia 1 powerheads
2 Ebo Jaeger 75W Heaters
Filter floss
Purigen
Chemi-pure Elite
RKL Level 3
Magfloat
Digital Thermometer
Reef master test kit
GFCI outlets/cords

A Tunze skimmer is also in the future.

Going to set it up over the weekend and run an initial test to make sure everything is working. Can I just use tap water to test the system for leaks and equipment verification or have to go with RO water?

In a couple of weeks, I will start cycling the tank and get the following:

RO or Saltwater - I read Tropiquarium is a good place to get these?

Can anyone recommend a good LFS for:

Cured Live Rock
Cured Live Sand
Chaeto

Anything else I'm missing?