• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Newbie Light question

I am looking at the all glass 72 bowfront reef ready . They offer several choices in lighting . Can you tell me if its worth spending $200 on this lamp or should i save and invest in something else if i vere decide to do reef? Or they also have a basic strip light for $80 . I am planing on FOWLR for now but am sure in due time i will get the itch to go reef.So here is the link is this worth the $200

http://www.aqueonproducts.com/products/compact-fluorescent-8000k-full-spectrum-lamps.htm

I cannot comment on the fixture since I've never used it before- but if you hit the "enlarge" button on the pic - take a look at the bulbs - those are Compact Fluorescents...All CF's have the "bent-tube" shape. It affords the ability to produce a large amount of light in a small space.

Generally speaking there are 5 different types of lights used in the hobby:
1. VHO
2. PC aka compact fluorescents
3. MH
4. T5
5. LED

Any of the above will give you a suitable opportunity to have a mixed reef. Each has it's own limitations to a degree though.

Without going on and on - the choice you make needs to factor a couple things - heat, cost, and what types of corals you plan on keeping. If the plan is softies like mushrooms and xenia and such - then go for it. If the plan is acroporas and other stony corals - then you may want to save the money. This is just my opinion though.

Chuck_NJ said:
... I am planing on FOWLR for now but am sure in due time i will get the itch to go reef. ...