• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

newbie question

hey guys ...

im new to saltwater and new to this awesome website ...

i just started a 65g fowlr setup that a friend of mine helped me set up ... i was given a bunch of free stuff and i was wondering if you guys could give me some feedback on what i should do

equipment
tank 65g...dimensions of a regular 75 but has a built in wetdry in the back
seclone 100 protein skimmer
and a aquaclear 50 with just carbon in it...(i was told to do this)

inhabitants...
2 large 3 stripe damsels...i used these guys to cycle the tank
20 lbs of live rock.... also used to cycle tank
and about 5 hermits

once the tank cycled my friends decided to "hook me up"
and i was given the fish that they didnt want anymore
so i was forced to adopt
1 algae blenny about 2.5 in.
1 cleaner shrimp
1 sail fin tang about 6in.
1 queen angelfish about 4.5in ...she's a juvie thats almost full adult coloration

now i like the queen ..but i think my tank is too small for it but i want to keep it..trying to upgrade to at least a 125 very soon...i dont like the sailfin cause its crazy messy..algae blenny and cleaner definitely stay,
and my other half...(girlfriend who is also into fish) wants to add a flame angel cause she thinks it shouldnt be a problem cause the queen and flame are different genus of angels

i know i need to add alot more liverock (and am looking for some ...i have a nice sailfin tang in case anyone wants to trade..lol)

what else would you guys recommend????
please be gentle as i am a newb. . .

WELCOME to NJRC!

Nice friends! The choices wouldn't have been my preference but we make do with what we can get right?

First you have to ask yourself what you envision the tank to be.