• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Palytoxin poisoning case reports

I recently got university journal access and decided to find all the case reports of documented palytoxin poisoning. Some of it is pretty heavy on the science. If you have any questions feel free to ask. I'm a recent medical school graduate, so I have some rudimentary knowledge about toxicology and the management of acute poisoning.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1354295/Palytoxin Case Reports.zip

If you ain't got time for case reports I can summarize for you. Wear gloves. Wear some sort of eye protection. Go to the emergency room if you feel sick after cutting frags. This toxin is extremely potent. It has a lethal dose in mice on the order of nanograms AKA a teeny tiny bit can ruin your day. A nanogram is not that much, a squirt of it can probably kill a room full of people. Your skin should protect you for the most part. However, getting it into your eyes is real bad as the eyeball is soft, squishy, and not very good at dealing with corrosive substances. Aerosolizing it allows it to enter your lungs and go directly into your bloodstream, which is super bad. DON'T BOIL ANYTHING. I would also be weary of leaving any palys/zoas exposed to air for a long period of time as the polyps may have a mechanism to vaporize the poison.

Most of this is common knowledge in our community and you guys probably already know this, but it's nice to see the actual reports.

Whelp that's all for now. Cheers! Be safe!

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
Thanks for those links, will be interesting reading.

dnov99

FRAG SWAP VENDOR
Darren,

What did you manage to do to yourself?

Hope you're OK...
Bob