• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Plumbing Newb Questions

I am planning to put together a low tech "water change system", and wanted to get some input because I am a plumbing newb.

I am planning to put staging water in a rubermaid tote, and then have a release valve (probably ball valve) which will allow gravity to take the water down to my "mixing tote".

My question is around parts and sizes.

3/4" Bulkhead for tote hole? Silcone to prevent leaks?
3/4" Ball Valve?
3/4" barbed connector?
vinyl tubing.

Can I connect the ball valve directly to the bulkhead? or do i need some separation?

Any other ideas that are probably much better than mine? Missing parts?

redfishbluefish

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
If you are attempting to get the valve as close to the bucket as possible, here’s how I suggest you do it:

First off, I’d use glue-up bulkheads and valves (versus threaded ones).

Install the bulkhead with the threaded part facing into the bucket. Make sure the gasket is on the outside of the bucket. Cut a two inch piece of pipe and glue that into the valve and bulkhead. The valve will now be kissing the bulkhead and look like this:

IMG_5298.jpg

redfishbluefish

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Dave, after responding and then walking back to throw the valve and bulkhead back into the parts bucket, I was playing with the valve and turning it back a forth. One concern I have is that it takes a fair amount of torque to turn that valve. If you are mounting this in a Rubbermaid Roughneck container, which is relatively thin pliable plastic, you might have a problem. You go to turn the valve and end up twisting a torqueing the plastic wall of the Roughneck. I’ve never mounted a bulkhead/valve on a Roughneck, so I’m just guessing here.