• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

SPS lovers tell me why you love SPS because I can't get into it

Maybe its because I am new to reefing, maybe I just haven't seen the right ones, but I just don't understand why people like SPS. To me they don't do anything but stand there like a craft that you could make out of Playdough. I understand that there are some nice colors and they are easy to frag. I just don't understand why someone wouldn't rather have a tank full of the LPS that actually expand and contract, sway in the water and act alive. I am in love with frogspawns, hammers, torches, etc. If I am in the wrong, please show me the right.

-Matt

LOL, Sounds like me 6 months ago. ::) Now I have 180G with full of SPS. If you want to see SPS expand and contract, come see my SPS. You really don't get out much....

To each his own love, matt. I almost look at SPS as some kind of underwater Bonsai garden. It takes a lot of patience and perseverance and did I mention patience in giving the corals time to grow, cutting them so they don't get too close, forming or mounting them to rocks that speed up their growth, placing them under different conditions to acquire variances in color and growth. I think for me, patience has definitely been the biggest factor, and the fact that they stay within each other's boundaries instead of giving them ample space to enlarge when the lights come on.
I've had softies before, and I loved them just as much, I think part of the SPS mentality too is the fact that they are slightly more challenging to keep. With the right combination, a tank could go from this:

June2005.jpg

to this in about a year!

April2006.jpg

Brian

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus