• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

sump in basement Help

Hi all,
I'm going to be setting up a new tank and want to use the sump in my basement, I came up with a plan thank's to John & Phyl's design.

Do you think this will work??? I know the drawings a horrible, I'm no artist

sump2.jpg

sump.jpg

Dude I love the scale of the toilet/sink... judging by it I think your frag tank is going to be 2500 Gallons!!

Just kidding, I'm actually interested in doing the same exact thing. So I will be keeping an eye on this.

lithivm said:
Dude I love the scale of the toilet/sink... judging by it I think your frag tank is going to be 2500 Gallons!!

LOL...yeah I goofed with the scale :-\ ... wish it was tho... 2500 gal + sound good to me :eek:

JohnS_323

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Tom, conceptually it looks good but I think you may be a bit undersized across the board.

First off, I'm not sure if a Mag18 is going to give you enough flow in your display tank. I know what they're "rated" to do, but in reality, I haven't seen it especially pushing water up that high. Are there 1 or 2 overflow boxes in the tank? If it's 2, you're really going to be wanting a true 1200gph getting to the tank. Too much less and it's going to be too loud for you.

Next, Id' go at least the next size bigger on all of your pipes. 2" manifold (min), 1.5" feed lines, etc. Carry the larger size right up to the tank and then step down to 1" (or 3/4") at the return line port for the tank.

This is just my opinion. I may have gone overkill in my system but honestly I don't see it. I'm very happy with the way it works. This is just one of those things, it sticks because it's makes the project more expensive but in my experience it's the right way to go.

Good luck.

Thanks John,