• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

upgrade to 40B

As I stated in another post I am planning to eventually upgrade to a 40Breeder custom rimless. I have a few questions since I am still pretty new to the hobby and never had a sump.

Would a vortech MP20 be enough flow through the tank to not need any other powerheads in there?
What sized sump would you recommend? Im thinking a 15g.
I have no idea how to set up the return system, is this difficult? I would have a center overflow drilled and I dont want a fuge. (Id be happy to donate a coral or 2 for someone to come over and help me do this)
Would a Aqua C urchin pro (with Mag 3) fit into a 15g sump? is this a good choice?

Thats about it for now. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Chris

Hello chris . Good luck with your upgrade. Where are you located ? What type of corals do you plan to have? I think that the flow from the mp20 would be enough plus you will also have flow from your return pump. Dont forget unless you go with an external pump you will need to put your return pump, skimmer and pump for the skimmer in your sump so 15g may not be big enough. The sump will be determind by the space you have , the bigger the sump the better, unless you want the sumpp under your stand. As for the Aqua c im not sure of the measurements so im not sure if it will fit, if you go with the under the stand sump. The plumbing is not that difficult although it can be trying, the biggest problem will be figuring your return pump size and trying to quiet your overflows. Thats just a start I hope I was able to help you and will do so whenever I can . I am new to this but am willing to help if I can. Regards Chuck P