• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Wading carefully into the waters.... 30G Cube

Hello everyone, I'm new.

I have very little experience with keeping fish at home, almost zero in fact. I did work in a fish dept in Petco during college but that isn't a credential of any sort (as you know).

I recently got a 30G Oceanic from someone and decided that I'm going to set it up as a reef tank (focusing on fluorescent corals) with some careful guidance and plenty of preparation. My coworker, Ed Wilkinson, has been very generous with his knowledge and has started me on the right foot with lighting, live rock, good water and live sand. I've tested the water a few times since setting it up this weekend and so far things seem fine. The live rock has a bonus supply of amphipods (?) brittle stars and a snail or two along with a handful of asteria starfish.

My next step is to add a few shrimp. My eventual goal is to have a few nice clowns (picasso's) and an abundance of zoanthids, frogspawn, buble corals, hammerheads etc.

Here's my setup so far. At this point I'm just happy the plumbing works! I have a 5 gallon sump below with a protein skimmer and a heater. I may make the sump larger as it runs low too quickly and it was sucking bubbles into the tank. I know the light should be on the tank, I'm fixing that tonight now that I have the legs for it.

Any help or advice is appreciated.

Tank step 2.1.jpgTank Step 2.jpg

mnat

Officer Emeritus
Staff member
Welcome to the club, I ran that same 30g cube for almost 1.5 years before I upgraded and it was a great tank.

First piece of equipment I would recommend would be an ATO unit. This will keep the water in the sump level so you are not sucking any bubbles into the display and possibly burning your return pump out.