• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Looking for advice on parameters

pgordemer

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Something doesn't sounds right with the testing.

First item though is your RODI should be ZERO. Period. Sound like its time for DI Change. 2-4 TDS would be OK post membrane and before DI, but after DI it should be ZERO.

I use reef crystals and have for years. I am relatively new to reef, but running FOWLR for almost 10 years. Reef Crystals for me has always mixed to these numbers: (and many people have had the same numbers and I recheck every time I open a new barrel)

Based on SG of 1.026 and a temp of 78
CA: 420
DKH: 12
MG: 1350

Matt,

I'd still like to see you get your alk up a bit. If I've got my numbers right I think you are at 7.4 dKH at present. You should have roughly 100g of water in your system and 5 gallons change is 5% (pretty easy one there). So after the water change you should be roughly at 7.75 dKH and I'd like to see you at 8.5 (not to high or too low).
(7.4*.95)+(14.4*.05)=7.03+0.72=7.75

Since you mentioned you have B-Ionic 2 part that you purchased but still haven't used I did a quick calculation using that. Going from 7.75 to 8.5 dKH with 100g of water will take 36.1 mL of the buffer portion ONLY. I wouldn't touch the calcium part as your calcium looks good.