• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Metal Halide vs. T5 lighting

I have seen some people on other boards discussing their luck with t5 bulbs such as the new current nova extreme pro lighting system, some still battle you need a halide such as the current outer orbit lights. Being a newbie the biggest difference I see is cost, the halide lights are about double the cost of a very good t5 lighting system. just wanted to get some input from everyone on this before I order my lighting. As for corals again being a newbie I probably plan on staying with softies but then again with my growing knowledge im sure that will change

same situation you're in...I'm leaning towards MH right now because I've always liked the shimmer effect and I *think* the tank will not need a chiller given the ambient temp in the house.

I've never used T-5s however did run vho's and was successful with sps corals in a 75g, I think provided your tank isn't deeper than 20in. you'll be ok with less than halides. I should point out that I did switch to halides and did get better growth with them. ;)

temperature is deffinatly key, the tank is in my room, but it normally stays pretty cool in there, but since it is my room I want to stay away from a chiller as much as I can due to them making a lot of noise