• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Rodi system question

I just set up my RODI system that a fellow member gave me (thanks) and didn't realize that one of the carbon cartrages wasn't the refillable type. So right now I'm just running an empty one, sediment, carbon block, RO, DI. Is this going to be ok for now. Also where can I pick up a cartrage as I do have the carbon to fill it.

Thanks

Josh

mnat

Officer Emeritus
Staff member
Did you check the TDS of the water coming out? If you are at 0 you should be good to go. Having sediment and carbon before the RO and DI helps keep the membranes running longer. I am sure extra carbon would help, but don't know if it is required. BTW I am pretty new to RODI units so I would wait for others to chime in, LOL.

Fish Brain

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
The only thing that is "refillable" on a RO/DI system is the DI cartridge. Carbon is a solid block filter. Some people run dual sediment filters, some run dual carbon blocks and some run dual DI. Where is your "open space" in the series of filters?

As long as you have a sediment, carbon block, RO and DI you have everything you need and anything else would just be secondary.

redfishbluefish

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
I’ve never heard of a “refillable” cartrige on an RO unit. They are all fixed filters.

Typically it’s (in order of water flow), Sediment Filter --- Carbon Block --- RO Membrane --- DI resin

With RO units with a whole bunch of “stages,” you might have two sediment filters or two carbon blocks or a “polishing” carbon filter after the RO membrane. This final filter is not recommended for aquarium usage….just for drinking water.

Fish Brain

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus