• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Something strange is going on....

Looking for some advice. My tank is 9 months old and I have approximately 80 gallons of water. It’s a 65 gallon tank with a 29 gallon sump. In my sump I have 10lbs of miracle mud, some rubble rock and chaeto. I run carbon in my filter sock and rowa phos in between the baffles in my sump. I change my carbon and rowa phos once a month. I also do 10 gallon water changes once a week. I have been using brightwell salt for the last six months.

For the last two months my tank has been doing extremely well. Honestly, once i added the miracle mud in my sump everything got better. Anyway, the last few weeks I have noticed some of the purple algae has been bleaching out. Not too much... Maybe 5% ish. Enough to notice though... Than my acans stopped plumping up, my anemone rock flower stopped expanding and now some of my zoas are sucking their heads in.

Today I did 20 gallon water change hoping this will correct things. If this does not work what else can I do? I don’t have any test kits to test my water and don’t have the money to purchase any right now either.

Any ideas or suggestions are greatly appericiated.

Thanks

iTzJu

Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
I would really advise getting your water tested since it is the only way to really now what's going on.

If I had to guess what is happening is that you 0 our your no3 and po4. Corals need nitrates and po4 to carry out their metabolic functions and grow. If you are 0 on both then they will be pissed, starving and will eventually die.

I'd say take out the rowphos and carbon for a few weeks and see what happens. If you can afford it, get some test kits to test your water or get an ICP test.