• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

CO2 for calcium reactor.

I never owned a calcium reactor. I am looking into different models and none seem to come with co2. Where would I buy a canister and are they refillable like propane. If they are refillable where would I go? Can anyone offer me some direction?

JohnS_323

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
A lot of people buy them and refill that at industrial welding supply places. There was some traffc a while ago about using food grade C02 but I'm not sure what ever came of that. I use the stuff from a welding pace and it seems fine.

HTH

JohnS_323

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
I have a 5lb and a 10lb and They last a really long time. I've been running the 10lb for at least 6 months now, probably longer. The 5lb is sitting there filed and waiting for its turn! I just got into the red zone of the 10lb (around 400lbs left), so I should have about 3 - 4 weeks left on it. I would say two 5lbs is probably good. It's nice to always have the backup ready to go.

malulu

NJRC Member
John,

i have a 5-lbs, and almost ready to hookup to use, was thinking to get a bigger one like 10-lbs.

when you say, have a backup, did you mean you only keep a spared tank? or you mean to have a full spare sets (including the regulator/bubble counter...etc.)

thx

He means spare tank filled in case your primary runs out. You can switch it and then get the tank filled at your leasure. Nothing like running out on a saturday evening and having to wait until Monday to get it filled.

the size of the tank should depend on water volume.
if u have a small tank a 10lb will last u a long time
i have a 20lb tank & it lasted over 2 years the first time i filled it,
that's doing 4 bubbles per second, most of the time people start with