• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

DIY Metal Halide

arvin

NJRC Member
Hi all,

I am planning to do a diy MH system. I already have a canopy and need your help in assembling the necessary pieces to build the MH system. I am a complete newbie and going to start from the scratch.

Here are some starter questions:

1) The tank is a 72g bowfront and depth is around 20 inches. I have a glass cover on top. There is six inches high opening on the canopy. So the MH will be about 7 to 8 inches away from the water with glass in between. Is this height good enough to minimize heat issues?

2) I am thinking of going with two 150W MH & two PC day lights & two PC acitinic lights. Is 150W good enough output for this tank or should I go for 175w or more?

3) If I can get some good deals on used MH light systems, will it be easier to dismantle the individual components and use it in my system? I am using a PC light system currently. Can I take it apart and move the light components to the canopy? Does it make sense to do this way or should I look for individual components and assemble it in the Canopy?

Thanks in Advance.

I don't think you'll have any problems with the distance from the glass to the lighting.

150w bulbs tend to be double ended bulbs. These run extremely hot. I don't think I'd trust then in a wood fixture, since they could burn that. Use a metal fixture for double ended bulbs. They also require UV blocking glass to prevent you from burning the corals.

150w and 175w bulbs give about the same light, but the 175w bulbs tend to be mogul base. If you really want to ge more light, go with 250w bulbs, but be prepared to need to invest in a chiller.