• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Gettin re-aquainted with my D70

Keep in mind, this is the stock lens, no super-dy-dooper-dy macro lens here.  (yet..  :eek:  )

zoa2.jpg

mushroom.jpg

A little better.  Definitely a huge color difference between my two monitors.  Looks like its time to recalibrate.  (I run 2 different monitors on my main system)

mushroom3.jpg

Sometimes. Depends on what I'm doing. Never really had the need to do anything macro before. This is a first. Usually I have a pretty small number of settings I use if I'm doing portrait work. (which I am by no means an expert at either, I get lucky alot). Generally with portrait work, especially indoor lighted sets, once you get a good read and a setting that works, you lock it in and don't change it often.

I do have a tri-pod.

Suggestions are welcome. Especially if you have particular familiarity with this unit. It's my first Nikon. I've been a Canon guy for years.

Random tangent thought.... I can't find my white balance card.... Note to self: Never loan out your rig to anyone... :(

with that lense i would try to get a lot of the picture & then just crop
what u want, i use the tripod & the remote to take close up's it helps
a lot, try setting the white balance to something white near the tank
thats what i did :)

Thanks Steve. Been fiddling with my live rock this afternoon, but I plan on playing with the camera some more this evening.

I hear that you have the sigma macro lens. How do you like it? I've used Tamron and sigma lenses before on my canons, but never a macro.