• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

IMO how to set up a tank to be immune and have healthy fish.

Paul B

NJRC Member
First off, Remember, I am an electrician, (a really good electrician) and I am not a researcher or scientist, I also don't have as many degrees as a thermometer. I did not even go to college, there was that war thing and besides that I hate school and would rather learn what I want to learn when I want to learn it even though I know now you could take a course in Beyonce. That will get you far in life. :cool:

Some history: I learned most of what I know about fish by spending about 400 hours with them underwater in oceans all over the place. Not tourist diving when all the divers in a resort follow an instructor around a reef that 17,000 divers "explored" before you. I have my own boat and equipment and when I went to the tropics, I hired a local guide to show me what I asked him to show me and thats how I learned. Lay on the bottom until you run out of air. Much of my dives were at night in New York hunting for lobsters in close to zero visibility.

Enough about me. If you don't believe fish can become immune, like they are in the sea, go and watch Oprah or "The View" :oops:

To know about fish you have to know how they think. You will learn that by observing them in the sea.

The first thing we see is that fish don't like us and they are afraid of us, yes even if you look like Angelina Jolie. As soon as a diver gets about 7' from a coral head, all the fish will dive in and get completely out of sight. Thats what they want to do,,,ALL fish. No fish in the sea is going to stay there while you get close to them.