• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

kalkwasser DIY...? help.

Hi Fellow Reef Lovers.

I am new to this hobby. Since I've gotten myself into the reefs, my african cichlids have not been getting much attention from me.

any way. here is a question. i've started a 10 G nano with some softies and a montipora frag. Tank is cycled and with a prizm skimmer and some live rock....

I've done waterchanges and the corals are so far doing okay. My question is related to adding more calcium into my system via Kalkwasser.
I've done plenty of reading and there seems to be some confusing info out there.
In my research, I found out that Calcium Hydroxide is not something you can buy at a local Home Depot. I managed to get some pulverized Lime but reading the ingredient label tells me it's primarily Calcium Carbonate and Calcium Oxide.
I've also read that some folks use Calcium Oxide and water to make Kalkwasser but others warn you against it.

Can anyone tell me where I can buy calcium hydroxide? Can anyone tell me for sure whether or not it is safe to use Calcium Oxide and water instead of Calcium Hydroxide? Can anyone tell me whether or not my pulverized lime is safe for mixing kalkwasser?

Thanks a million to whomever can dispell all this conflicting information.

JohnS_323

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
With a 10g nano and mostly softies, you should be able to maintain all of your levels through regular water changes. I don't know if I'd be too inclined to do a kalk drip in a 10g system.

JMO, but I'm sure there are others! You should do some searching around this site. There are a ton of threads relating to kalk drips, Ca Reactors, etc.

i do have a montipora capricorn frag. i know that it will need additional calcium.