• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Metal Halide Ballast Question

I have 2 250 watt MHs and on one side the ballast is blowing fuses every other day.

I have them turning on at 1:00pm and off at 6:00pm .. only 5 hours of serious light.

Anyone know why only one side is doing it? And how I can fix it.

The fuses are 10 amp 250watt max. Should I go to a 10 amp 400 watt max? Do they make that?

I'm far from an electrician, but if it is blowing a fuse, putting in a larger capacity fuse will just be asking for trouble in my opinion. Each one of those ballasts is wired independantly, so one blowing fuses and not the other is entirely plausible.

I would investigate the wiring for shorts, breaks, exposed wire to condensation/salt creep, etc. Something has to be causing that fuse to blow. That's what they are designed to do when there is a problem. Until you locate the problem, I'd unplug that ballast too.

Hopefully some electricians can chime in with more detail, but there definitely has to be something wrong either with the wiring, or internally on the ballast to be causing that fuse to blow so frequently.

Most likely the ballast has a short in it. I have had this happen before. As pointed out by mfisher2112, it could be in the other wiring, so check that also.

Just to make sure it's not the bulb, swap the bulbs and see if the problem follows the bulb. If it does it's the bulb. If not it's the ballast.

Those are about the only two parts that can go wrong in a MH system. Most of the rest of the stuff, wiring, switches, and socket doesn't cause much in the way of problems.

If you have coil and core ballasts, and most commercial fixtures do, use this as a chance to replace those with electronic ballasts.