• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Need some Advice with anemone

Hey Guys
I recently picked this anemone from the store. When I bought him i was told it's a carnation anemone. I did some searches last few days and really didn't come up with any useful information. I have been feeding him mysis shrimp and Rod's food. I also been trying to get him to host the clowns. So I was hoping I might get some advice on how to take care of this guy and also how to get the clowns to take a liking to him. I do appreciate any advice. I am just starting out on this hobby so I apologize in advance for any lack of knowledge.

Voila...

i hate to say it but it looks like it is missing some color...

p1120158jf3.jpg

It looks like a BTA. Possibly dyed. Not necessarily though. Some BTAs look like that color naturally. It looks like it is in good shape. I would just feed it a few times per week just to be safe. As for the clown hosting. What clowns do you have? False percs I am guessing. This is not it's natural host anemone. It will be 50-50 if it hosts in it. There are ways to "force" the issue.

1) Remove fish and nem and place in close quarters.
2) Some people say put a picture of a clown hosting in a nem right by tank so your fish can learn from picture
3) have patience. Maybe the bond tomorrow, maybe 6 months, maybe never.

Thanx Hawkeye. Also guys thanx for the advice. I have a pair of true's. I have been feed them close to the anemone. Today actually one of the clowns took the food right off from the anemone, so I hoping this is a good sign. What you guys think? Still open to more suggestions..thank you in advance.