• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

what's the real deal on the captive bred fish industry?

First of all, for anyone who hates reading novels, you might want to move on. ;)

I’m trying to get some perspective on the captive-bred fish industry because I’ve found the reality of actually acquiring these fish somewhat frustrating. First, maybe a little background on myself since I’m a new member here. I just turned 40 last week, I’m new to reefkeeping, and my wife and I are environmental do-gooders. I won’t elaborate much but we both live and work in CC Philly, she walks to work at a non-profit, I ride my bike to work as an architect at a firm that does primarily “green” architecture. We buy mostly organic foods, recycle almost everything, rarely ever drive. You get the idea. We don’t preach to others about it, it’s just our lifestyle and we’re not perfect, but we try.

A year ago I became interested in aquariums again after a 25 year hiatus from when I kept guppies with my father as a kid. After researching like crazy I made two decisions: 1. I was going to have a saltwater tank because I always wanted one when I was young, 2. I was going to do everything I could to minimize the impact of my hobby on the environment. So far this has worked great and I’ve really enjoyed the challenges. I make DIY cement rock which is dirt cheap and fun, all my corals are from frags and my two fish so far are tank-bred clowns.