• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

20L Frag Tank Questions

That would be nice i was wanting that light but don't have 30"...
and what i was thinking of is a AC filter with LR in it but idk

BEST OF LUCK,
Nick

A 150W 20k metal halide about 8 or 9 inches off the surface would be a way to go. Check with Ed over at ILC to see how much it would cost, I think it would only be about $30 more than the fixture your looking at.

Tom

not only do you need MH lighting for sps, make sure you have strong flow. SPS are hard, your water perm must be amazing, do you have a skimmer? Also 150 MH might not be enought light for some sps. I am no sps expert,mabey one of the sps people could hop on. Anyway, good luck and post pics of the tank.

i run a 20h frag tank of softies with 130 W p/c lights, hob shimmer and a few power heads for flow. it was doing great until the crash a few weeks ago ( power outage for 36 hrs) :'(
you could get away with p/c's if you stick to easy to keep sps and you put them high in the tank but if its going to be all sps and harder to keep species i would go with either vho T5's or the 10-14K halides......( better growth with 10k, better color with 14k) just remember the heat from the halides will give you more evap. and you will have to top off every day to keep water stable.

good luck........al

ps:.....i'm thinking of going to a bigger tank and will be selling my 20H frag set up in a few months

Why is everyone under the opinion that nothing but MH's work for SPS? I think