• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

75g Build Input and Suggestions, lots needed

ReeferBobRW

NJRC Member
Hi, My name is Bob and I've been keeping F/W fish for 10+ years. I did try to keep S/W fish back around 1990, but due to lack of knowledge and equipment, it failed miserably. I currently have a Finnex 30 gallon all in one reef tank that is running for about 1yr. I also have a 75g tank and stand, it was setup for freshwater but empty now, I would like to setup as a reef tank. I am planning on putting softies, LPS fish and maybe a try at SPS but we'll see. I have been doing some research but would like some opinions and input to make it work. I am handy and I wouldn't mind building some things myself. I would also like to keep this all reasonably priced.

Items I have
75g Tank (not drilled ATM) and stand
2 wet/dry filters w/overflows
~60-75 LBS of rock from Marcorocks (nice meeting you at the swap):)

Items I need
Lighting
Sump/Refugium
Skimmer
Pumps
Plumbing

I would like to go with T5 lighting mainly for power consumption, heat and I like the idea that I can change the bulbs to different configurations. My first question, anyone have experience with T5 lighting. My 30g has MH. 2 lights I have been looking at are -
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...uct_Code=AT-TX54800&Category_Code=Aquactinics
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merc...oduct_Code=SL-960040&Category_Code=SunlightT5
I don't know much about lighting like 6 bulb vs 5 or the different manufactures. Price is a concern also.

sump/fuge, I would like to try and build one myself as it doesn't look all too complicated. Maybe a 30g tank, but then again I'm not sure about what size to use. It will be put under the stand. Does anyone have any good DIY ideas or plans for this?