• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Advice on new setup (corner tank??)

I quickly realizing I'm soon going to want a bigger tank than the 30g Finnex I have now.  I promised my partner I'd collect equipment over the summer, buying used when possible to keep costs down. My plan is to get a larger setup ready to go by the time it starts getting cold out. I work as an engineer and this is my busy time of the year. I have more free time once the construction industry slows down.

I really like the looks of the corner tanks & am considering buying a 92 gallon corner tank and stand. I'm looking for some pros and cons and maybe some advice on such a venture. The big things I'm concerned with are:

Space under the tank for a decent sump/ fuge. I'm probably limited to either a 15g or maybe a small 20ish gallon Bowfront tank as a sump. Not ideal for sure. The tank is going to be in the living room adjacent to the kitchen. I have a feeling I could talk my partner into letting me plumb the tank through the wall into the kitchen. If the sump was enclosed in some sort of nice looking stand, perhaps it could double as a microwave cart? Or maybe I could put a butcher block on top??? Lol. I'm stretching a bit maybe, but it would be nice to have the sump so close to the sink, trash, back door, etc...

Getting the tank drilled or drilling it myself. The particular tank I'm thinking about picking up isn't reef ready. I had a bad flood once due to hang on overflows. I'm not going that route ever again! Anyone her have experience drilling tanks or does anyone have a recommendation on where to get this done?