• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

anyone successfully *control* majanos?

I just picked up a couple of pieces of live rock from a local reefer breaking down a tank. There were a couple of hitchhikers that I at first thought were some type of zoa (yea! free stuff!) but now I'm 99% sure they are majanos (nothing is free).

I did some research and there seem to be two schools of thought. Many on Reef Central say destroy them all immediately. On wetwebmedia they seem to say if you don't overfeed and skim properly (control the nutrients in the tank) they shouldn't spread out of control, so keep them if you like them. Those might be big "if"s for me since I'm new to reefs and still trying to tune my system.

I'd rather not destroy things just as a precaution, and in fact I like they way they look especially since the tank is a bit bare, but I obviously don't want it to get out of control either.

Anyone successfully have "just a few" majanos in the tank without them becoming a plague, or should I just get them out now while there is only a cluster of 3-4?

I consider them pests and removed them just as I would Aiptasia. These little suckers multiply/propagate quickly and become a pain in quick time.

I know it's hard to want to remove stuff from the tank when it's looking bare but do yourself a favor now and save the aggravation later on when you will want to remove them but find it difficult because there are so many of them.

Carlo

Get rid of them now while it's easy. They are a pest and will take over your tank quickly stinging and killing the corals you will eventually want to keep. Use Joe's Juice, kalkwasser, any other method but get rid of them.

HerbieK

NJRC Honorary Member
NJRC Member