• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Donate to school tank: East Side H.S. Newark, NJ 07105

Wow, I just wrote this huge post, went to post it and was asked to log in again...and now it's gone...wow.

Sooo,
Some of you may know, most of you probably not...But I am a science teacher in Newark NJ. I teach comprehensive science and Earth Science to 75 students aged 14-18 at East Side H.S. in Newarks Ironbound.

For these students (all of them and specifically the Earth Science students) I have set up a marine tank to instill in them qualities of environmental stewards, and of course the course objectives mandated by the district. Using the tank and our oceans as a loose guide we student geology, geography, biology, chemistry, and ethics while covering our curriculum. We give it a marine science spin.

With the tank we have hopes to start a propagation project as well as a pretty display tank.
So far we have:
20g tank, salt, coralife 65w PC light, MJ12 power head(it was all I had!), thermometer, blue mushrooms, clove polyps, frogspawn, 3 small/medium LR, 20lbs of crushed coral subs., chaeto, mangroves, small urchin, heater, hydrometer.

This is all thanks to individual donations from folks/vendors on these sites:
donorschoose.org, reeferscafe.com, manhattanreefs.com, reefcleaners.com, and myself.

For the last bit we need...I've decided to come to more local folks here at NJREEFERS.
We are in need of:
1. Timers for our lights (we have 1wk vacation coming up soon and no one will be able to come in!!)
2. Egg crate (for prop. exp. ~12inches)
3. Leather/Sinu/easy to frag and grow coral (we will cut this up into 25 peices and put it on the egg crate and document growth)
4. Rubblerock/frag holders (to put our 25 small peices of coral into the eggcrate)