• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

GHA

Jamie S

NJRC Member
I’ve been battling this GHA in the 32 biocube for a few months now. I do weekly 5 or 10 gallon water changes. I have a Santa Monica drop algae scrubber but just realized a few weeks ago the light is flashing and I have no idea why. I have a skimmer and filter floss I change a few time per weeks. I tried vibrant weekly for 3 months without success (although I did have a little bubble algae that it took care of.) I siphon out as much as I can during each water change. I know I have a heavy bioload (6 perculas, 1 6 line wrasse, 1 chromis and a diamond goby along with 3 RBTA’s and a mushroom. I just ordered some bio balls and thinking of putting them in and trying vibrant again. Any other thoughts? If I reduce the bioload it would only be by moving the chromis and wrasse to the 120.

Attachments

• 3D44A785-13DB-48BD-9677-78A731555135.jpeg
    3D44A785-13DB-48BD-9677-78A731555135.jpeg
    2.2 MB · Views: 10

amado

Dal
Staff member
Board of Directors
NJRC Member
This is my opinion algae will alway exist in a reef tank.
The solution is to find fish/invert to eat it. 6 clown fish in a tank is hard to keep. It’s not your fish load but the type of fish you keep. I would keep two clowns and one very small tang or fox face to eat the algae. You can add a urchin.
Turbo snails also eat hair algae.

DYIguy

NJRC Member
I just got a lawnmower blenny for one tank with an algae problem -cleaned the glass up and now is going to town on the rock- also took the falco hawk down a a couple of notches too

amado

Dal
Staff member
Board of Directors
NJRC Member