• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Mantis found!

Tell you what, as a newbie I rejected the concept of avoiding live rock because of hitchhikers, but I totally get it now!

iTzJu

Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
in terms of the animal itself, its pretty cool but as a hitchhiker, definitely not. hope you can find someone willing to take care of it. would be a shame to just dispose of it.

Mark_C

Staff member
Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
Cool deal. I had one for a couple years and it never bothered fish or inverts. I knew where it had a ‘lair’ in the rocks and every few days would put a small cube of fish on a skewer. He eventually would come to the lair entrance and wait dor me at feeding time.

If its not killing anything and acting as part of the cuc, don’t see harm in keeping him about. Of course rubber gloves or a grabber would have to be the norm every time you worked on rockscape.

Always found this cool and informative...

Where did you get your live rock from? You might want to see if anyone wants the mantis or even some LFS will take them if you don't want it.

He came on some rock out of the Gulf of Mexico. I’ll see about setting up a small species tank. Im pretty sure he got my red fairy wrasse so he isn’t go back into any tank with fish in it. Definitely won’t dispose of him though - fascinating animal.

I will make him a good home :)

Set up a 40B that I was using as a ATO reservoir. He’s stable for now. Gonna build him a nice home to live in. Will post when done

More recommended to use an acrylic tank for those, people say they can shatter glass, and better safe then sorry. Unless its the spearing type of mantis. Those you need sand for them to burrow themselves.