• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Marine Biology?

Alright, I'm only a sophomore but I gotta start thinking about college soon. I'm interested in the ocean and such (obviously or else I wouldn't be in this hobby). I want to stay in state and thinking about wanting to go into Marine Biology as a career. Rutgers does offer it so that makes me even more excited to go into it.

Just wondering if any of you guys studied Marine Biology in college and if so what have your careers been since?

Phyl

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Merv studied Marine Biology. He's in sales. My neice studied Marine Bio in Hawaii. I think she's a SAHM now.

That's all I've got!

eholceker

NJRC Member
My buddy Gerard studied Marine Biology and he is in construction and one of my fraternity brothers well, he sells insurance. Awesome field but not a lot of jobs out there, especially not high paying ones.

yea i was trying to research about jobs and it seems like its mostly just like working with animals in the ocean and stuff like that :\. The two main things im interested in show very little for a future (marine biology and film making). anyone else thats got any knowledge or thoughts or opinions feel free :).

My cousin is working on her Masters in Marine Bio. She is currently doing the research for her thesis. Some study on the effects of a paticular algae that is effecting the Alaskan crabs and their mateing habits. Spacificly the Dungeoness Crab.

pgordemer

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
Check out Stockton College of NJ. They have a large program there, and I see a number of their students as I run a Scuba course there a few times a year. They do a lot of internship programs in FL and the Keys.