• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

My first tank

Bandito Aquatics

NJRC Member
016C9060-BBEA-4EEF-9B78-E8CB23CB7DC2.jpeg So this is my first attempt at a saltwater tank. I’m not so experienced in the hobby but I have been doing my research. Hours and hours of research. My brain is a little toasted for all the information I have absorbed and yet I still feel I can learn more.

Any advice comments, questions, concerns please let me know.

It’s currently in the 4th day or so the fishless cycle.

It’s a 24-25gal tank
I have a aquaclear 50 hob filter
100w heater
Sunsun 130 power head
Shallow sand bed
8lbs of macro reg and about 12lbs of dead dry rock.
RODI water (luckily in my town there is a purified water vendor so I only pay about 1.50 a gallon.)
I dont know what else to write. I have a ton of questions about flow and lighting if anyway wants to talk me under there wing for a lesson

iTzJu

Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member
off to a good start!

biggest advise is to be patient and don't rush anything. take your time and do things right!

ask away with what questions you have in regards to flow and light and everyone here will chime in.

Bandito Aquatics

NJRC Member
off to a good start!

biggest advise is to be patient and don't rush anything. take your time and do things right!

ask away with what questions you have in regards to flow and light and everyone here will chime in.

With a small tank like this. Which I consider small which is the best placement for a good flow with a power head. I currently have it faced up for surface aggatation.

Also i forgot to mention the dead live rock now looks kinda white and fuzzy could this be organic die off ?

iTzJu

Officer Emeritus
NJRC Member