• Folks, if you've recently upgraded or renewed your annual club membership but it's still not active, please reach out to the BOD or a moderator. The PayPal system has a slight bug which it doesn't allow it to activate the account on it's own.

Need to run an CFGI outlet, need help.

Guys, I need to install another outlet(CFGI) in the living room, im not an electrician, but i can follow instructions pretty well. Can someone tell me what kind of wire and circuit I need to buy? Im only going to run the following:

100w of T5
4 power heads
2 heaters
10w PC for plenuim
top off

so i think 20amp should be fine for this?

Phyl

Officer Emeritus
Officer Emeritus
No, wire is either 14 or 12 guage. I'M NO ELECTRICIAN, but I'm pretty sure you want 12g wire for a 20amp breaker.

Treadingwater said:
Yes, you need 12 guage wire for a 20 amp circut. What you need to look for is 12/2 wire.

To be more specific i would think you want 12/2 WITH ground. You can buy with with or without but you want WITH.

if you install 20 amp breaker then 12 wire and 14 wire for 15 amp..

also u need a gfci never heard of cfgi.. any questions pm me.. I do it for a living

got it, gfci. No wonder i couldn't find anything in the search :)

so all i need is a breaker, wire and the outlet, thats it?

Subliminal

NJRC Member
I believe amps are watts times volts.

You have maybe ~600 watts there. Divide that by 110 (standard AC power in the house), and you really need ~5 amps total. Maybe some more for overhead.

I work with mainly 12v, though, so could be off on something there. Either way, you'll have plenty of protection for that particular outlet (overhead?).

Hey Volk, I'm no expert either, but from what I understand (and was told when I did mine) you need EITHER the GFCI breaker OR the GFCI outlet, not both.

I installed the outlets, not the breaker. It was cheaper, and everything I was told said it would do the same thing as the breaker, but at the outlet side as opposed to the breaker side.